Leonardo da Vinci by
Encyclopedia entries (404):
".... surviving drawings illustrate machinery (including the precise gearing of scientific instruments), aspects of military engineering, as well as optical phenomena and geometry, and the inventory lists studies made from nature, detailed representations of...." from Grove Art Online, accessed via Wollongong City Library Databases collection
"...uneasy combination of elements drawn from Verrocchio's repertoire, like the Virgin's desk and the over-zealous receding lines of her house, with more adventurous aspects like the landscape. The sense that this is an assembly of disparate and not always well-matched parts is amplified by the..." from The encyclopedia of Western Art, accessed via Wollongong City Library Databases collection
Journal Articles:
"....Leonardo made the faculty of vision-or more precisely, the gift and patience for intensive observation-the foundation of both his scientific investigations and his work as a figural artist..... the progress is exclusively in drawing technique, particularly in the use of wash..." from Ackerman, James S, 1998 'Leonardo da Vinci: Art in science', Daedalus, vol. 127, no. 1, Winter, pp. 207-224 in Proquest database, accessed via Wollongong City Library Databases collection
"....the importance of a master's skills for his apprentices; Verrocchio
never used the new medium of oil or mastered the art of fresco, and
hence taught neither to his pupils. The author stresses the difficulty
posed by the proportions of oil to the other ingredients which .....", from Woods-Marsden, J, 1999, 'Leonardo da Vinci: Origins of a Genius',
Renaissance Quarterly, vol.
52, no. 4, Winter, pp. 1152-1153 in Proquest database, accessed via Wollongong City Library Databases collection
etc