Wassily Kandinsky : History of Russian Painting : Rollins College, Florida website
Concerning the Spiritual in Art by Wassily Kandinsky
ArtAccess : Vasily Kandinsky : Art Institute of Chicago website
Kandinsky : California State University website
The spaces of Spirituality and Absolute Abstraction : Kandinsky
Encyclopedia entries (269):
"...(Kandinsky had learnt about lithographic techniques while working for a printing firm in Moscow....(and) .. later used a variety of printmaking techniques, including etching and drypoint....developed a distinctive style of painting in which motifs were still recognizable, but the work gradually became more abstract, emphasizing the synthesis of colour, line and form over straightforward representation..." from Grove Art Online, accessible via Wollongong City Library databases
"...The analogy between painting and music—claimed from the Romantic period onward as the most “abstract” of the arts—was familiar to Kandinsky, who responded fervently to the “music dramas” of Richard Wagner and would bring musical analogies, as early as 1902, into the reviews of art exhibitions.... He would also have known, as a student newly arrived there, the ringing statement by the Jugendstil painter and designer August Endell to the effect that “we stand on the threshold of an altogether new art, an art with forms that mean or represent nothing, yet which can stimulate our soul as deeply as the tones of music have been able to do.”...... from Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, accessible via Wollongong City Library databases
etc
Journal articles:
"...When painter Wassily Kandinsky heard Arnold Schoenberg's music he found a kindred spirit in his war on convention. The two men changed art and music forever..." from Gathorne-Hardy, Daisy, 2006, Abstract allies, Financial Times London 17 June, p. 34, accessible via the Proquest database, Wollongong city Library database collection.
"..Schoenburg's music made an overwhelming impression on Kandinsky, who drew two preliminary sketches of the performance on the spot or immediately thereafter...." from Teachout, T, 2004 "Kadinsky's mistake', Commentary, Vol. 117, no. 3, March. pp. 52-55, accessible via the Proquest database, Wollongong city Library database collection.
etc