Olive Cotton - HSC Visual Art - Case studies - LibGuides at St Joseph's Regional College

Books: Regional Library

Olive Cotton : photographer / photographs and captions by Olive Cotton
Call Number: NON 770.92 COT
ISBN: 0642106495

EBSCO journal articles

Tribute to Olive Cotton
Cotton tales
At the end of World War II, she was one of Australia's best-known female photographers, but then Olive Cotton vanished into marriage, motherhood and exile in the bush. Or did she? Sally McInerney here recalls her mother's unsung second career. The exhibition Olive Cotton: The Unseen Collection can be viewed at Cowra Art Gallery (phone 02-6340 2190 for opening times) until January 19..
Talking Cotton down on the farm
She might have left town for the quiet life but her work speaks volumes, writes Robert McFarlane. Olive Cotton's conversion to photography became absolute on her 11th birthday, with the gift of a Kodak camera from two favourite aunts. A retrospective of Cotton's life in photography, meticulously curated by Helen Ennis, fills the first-floor gallery at the Art Gallery of NSW..
The Picture Show Women
The reappraisal of major women artists has resulted in a treasure trove of images. And, with the emergence of glorious Olive Cotton works, writes Tim Bonyhady, it also marks the end of a blokey lineage..
An abiding passion for light and line
Pioneer of a stark modernist aesthetic
In a Cowra hospital on Sunday, with her husband of almost 60 years by her side, Olive Cotton country wedding snapper, homemaker and modernist photographer died. She was 92 and had never, close relatives say, completely recovered from breaking her leg a few years ago. She had even been too incapacitated to hold her beloved camera..

Quality websites (.gov domains)

Olive Cotton : ACT Museums and Galleries website

Olive Cotton : Australian government website

Olive Cotton : Art Gallery of New South Wales website

Books: Wollongong City Library

Author

Title

Wollongong City Council Library location

Cotton, Olive

Olive Cotton : photographer

Dapto

Adult Non Fiction
779.9994 COT

Rolton, Gloria

Women in art and music

Junior Non Fiction
J 709.2294 ROL

Encyclopedia and Journal Articles : Wollongong City Council Online Database Collection

Encyclopedia entries:

"...Olive Cotton (1911–2003) adopted a modernist idiom around 1935...." Access this article via Oxford Art Online, Wollongong City Council database collection

"...Olive Cotton (1911–2003) produced the black-and-white image Tea Cup Ballet..." Access this article via Oxford Art Online, Wollongogn City Council database collection

Journal articles:

"...Like other modernists, the pictures taken by Olive Cotton were audacious studies of light and shade..." Access this article via Proquest database, Wollongong City Council database collection

HSC Visual Art - Case studies: Olive Cotton

Books: Regional Library

EBSCO journal articles

Quality websites (.gov domains)

Books: Wollongong City Library

Encyclopedia and Journal Articles : Wollongong City Council Online Database Collection