Brenda Croft and David Hockney - HSC Visual Art - Case studies - LibGuides at St Joseph's Regional College

Books: MNC Library

David Hockney my early years
Call Number: 759.2/HOC Kempsey
ISBN: 0500275270
David Hockney
Call Number: 759.2/HOC Port Macquarie
ISBN: 0500202915
Secret knowledge : rediscovering the lost techniques of the Old Masters
Call Number: 751.4/HOC Wauchope
ISBN: 0500237859
That's the way I see it
Call Number: 759.2/HOC Port Macquarie
ISBN: 0500280851

EBSCO: journal articles

David Hockney and Friends
Prodigious Son
This article presents a profile of painter David Hockney. Born in 1937 in Bradford, on the opposite, west side of Yorkshire, England Hockney grew up in a small industrial city that had seen better times. He fell in love with the Yorkshire wolds while cycling with his family on the local roads that rise and fall like thin black ribbons on top of a patchwork quilt of wheat and barley fields.
"I care about bossiness. I'm fed up with being bossed around".
The article presents a profile of David Hockney, a British artist. In the article Hockney addresses a number of issues including the ban on public smoking in Great Britain and his dislike of British prime minister Gordon Brown. The author comments on the natural images that appear in Hockney's later painting..

Quality weblinks

Stills Gallery: Brenda L Croft
NGA: Retake (artist talk)
Brenda talks about her work

YouTube Video from the Tate Modern : interview with David Hockney

YouTube video : David Hockney on perspective and looking

Encyclopedia and Journal Articles available through Wollognong City Library Database Collection

Encyclopedia entries (56):

"......sought ways of reintegrating a personal subject-matter into his art while remaining faithful to his newly acquired modernism..." from Grove Art Online, accessible via Wollongong City Library databases collection

Journal articles:

"...more complex understandings of the expanding postwar urban landscape.... different relationships between art and place......" from Allen, Ken, 2007, 'History on the Surface: Pop Art and Postwar Urbanism in 1960s Los Angeles', Art Journal, vol. 66, no. 4, Winter, pp. 103-105, accessible via the Proquest database in the Wollongong city Library databases collection.

"......considers homoeroticism in David Hockney's life and art..." from Burns, Sarah, 2002, 'Art and Artist in twentieth Century America: Ambition and Love in Modern American Art', The Art Bulletin, vol. 84, no. 4, December, pp. 694-696. accessible via the Proquest database in the Wollongong city Library databases collection.