LibGuides: Year 9 History : Australians at war (WW1): Soldiers in WW1

Fiction books in SJRC Library - stories based around World War I

Browse the thumbnail book covers below this image to find a list of fiction books in St Joseph's Regional College Library which are written about the people, times and events of World War I. Remember, historical fiction books have a PURPLE spine label.

Lost Boys of Anzac by Peter Stanley
Call Number: 940.4 STA
ISBN: 9781742233970
Publication Date: 2014-04-01

One Search

Search the library catalogue, anytime, anywhere.

Try Trove

Search Trove for pictures and digitised newspaper reports.

Trove- Australian Women's Weekly
search the digitised copies of the Australian Women's Weekly for many articles and images on World War 1

Diary Entries

JSTOR

Great starting points

ANZAC diaries
Diaries written mainly by Australians and New Zealanders at Gallipoli, and elsewhere, during World War 1
Digitsed collection of personal war diaries from the Australian War Memorial
A digitised collection of the actual personal war diaries kept by soldiers and nurses during WW1
Australian War Memorial - War Diaries
While on active service Army headquarters, formations and units are required to keep a unit war diary recording their daily activities. Archival series AWM4 comprises the diaries of the Australian Imperial Force (AIF) created during the First World War
ANZACs in Gallipoli
Official ANZAC site
Transcript of diaries of nurse Alice Ross-King, 1915-1919
Resource from the Australian War Memorial- This source is a digitised collection of one of the nurses that served throughout WWI diaries. These diaries are significant as they give a first hand account of what was actually occurring at the time. They describe the trials and tribulations that the nurses went through as well as all the horrific injuries and events they witnessed.
eBook- Five Months at Anzac by Joseph Lievesley Beeston
A Narrative of Personal Experiences of the Officer Commanding the 4th Field Ambulance, Australian Imperial Force
Author: Joseph Lievesley Beeston
Personal stories of Australians in war - Australian Internet Sites
A collection of entries from PANDORA, Australia's Web Archive, a collection of Australian online publications, established initially by the National Library of Australia in 1996, and now built in collaboration with nine other Australian libraries and cultural collecting organisations.
Note- not all of these entries are from WW!- make sure you check the date of the record.
Eulogy for the Unknown Soldier
Remembrance Day 1993: commemorative address - PM HON PAUL KEATING MP
WW1 and the Hastings
The diary of a local soldier
Discovering ANZACS
Explore government records about soldiers, munitions workers, nurses, conscription, internment, wartime copyright and patents, defence correspondence and more.
State Library of NSW WW1 collections
Youth in war
Stretcher bearer diaries

Australian Primary Sources

Australianscreen Australia's audiovisual heritage. This site has film clips and notes from Australian film and television.

Music Australia Brought to you by the National Library of Australia, the National Film and Sound Archive.

National Archives of Australia " From dramatic events that shaped the nation to decisions that touched the lives of individual Australians, the records the National Archives holds are about people – from the ordinary to the famous – and their interactions with the Australian Government."

National Library of Australia "Access more than 160,000 collection items including pictures, maps, books, journals, printed music, manuscripts and oral histories."

Picture Australia See pictures of Australia’s past and present including: photographs, objects, maps and works of art.

Comments (0)

The Australian War Memorial

Twitter feed #dailydigger

Videos on World War 1

Over the top
This is a silent black-and-white clip shot by Hubert Wilkins, the official Australian war photographer depicting a battle scene on the Western Front in France during the final months of the First World War. Possibly a re-enactment, the clip opens with barbed wire in the foreground as an artillery barrage goes on behind. It then cuts to companies of Australian soldiers, with bayonets fixed to their rifles, emerging from their trenches and going into action.

Reference for this clip-

Parer, D. (c1918). Over the top [Video file]. Retrieved from http://aso.gov.au/titles/documentaries/australia-world-war-1/clip1/

In their own words

This presentation of WW1 film, together with voices of WW1 veterans, was produced by the Australian War Memorial's film and sound curators. The footage and original oral history recordings are part of the rich film and sound collections of the Australian War Memorial.

reference-

Australian War Memorial.(2012, April 22). In their own words [Video file]. Retrieved from https ://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5HEKJ4a2z0I

Head of Library

Karen Bale

Email Me

Subjects: Careers, Creative Arts, English, HSIE, Mathematics, PDHPE, Religious Studies, Science, Student Services, TAS