Australian - Preliminary English - Contemporary Possibilities - LibGuides at St Joseph's Regional College

Behind the news

TV [Image: dcatcherex 2010, Blue tv, http://www.openclipart.org/detail/96769, CCO 1.0, http://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/, source: Open Clip Art Library] TVNews
Watch news, current affairs and selected documentaries aired on Australian free-to-air networks online. Content is available from August 2007 onwards. Shows include:

60 minutes
Looks at current affairs, personal stories and issues in Australia.
Dateline
International current affairs program.
Foreign Correspondent
Weekly international current affairs program.
Four Corners
Investigative journalism program.
Insiders
Interviews, discussion, and analysis of national news.
Insight
A discussion forum focusing on a single issue with the participation of a studio audience
Lateline
Nightly news analysis program.
Media Watch
A forum which analyses the media and journalism exposing conflicts of interest, power abuse, lies, plagarism and fraud.
The Drum
Daily panel of commentators and newsmakers discussing the events and issues of the day.
The Feed
Australian news, current affairs, and satire television series

South Australian

The Advertiser
InDaily
Adelaide's daily independent newspaper.
Messenger Community News
Suburban Adelaide newspapers.

Major newspapers

The Australian
National Broadsheet Newspaper
The Age
The Australian Financial Review
The Courier Mail
The Canberra Times
The Northern Territory News
The Mercury
The Sydney Morning Herald
The West Australian
The Weekend Australian Magazine

Independent news and comment

Crikey
An Australian independent online news service with news and commentary on politics, media and business. There are free and subscription sections.
New Matilda
Providing new perspectives to news in Australia to help contribute to public debate. Gives commentary and analysis of Australian politics, business, civil society, international affairs, media and culture as well as looking at breaking news and data driven journalism.
The Stringer
The Conversation
Guardian Australia

Television and other media

10 news
ABC news
From the Australian Broadcasting Corporation. The ABC offers content that may be ignored by more commercial services.
ABC news 24
NineMSN
SBS news
Seven news

Talkback and news radio starters

fiveaa
Talkback radio station in South Australia.
2GB
Sydney talback radio station.
ABC news radio
Australia's only national, continuous news network.
SBS radio
Listen to news in a variety of languages including Cantonese, Greek, Korean and Polish.
Radio National

Search tips

Find full text newspaper articles and streamed videos in the Library's collection.

Looking for a newspaper? Type the title into the search box and select the Title option
For example: "The Advertiser". TIPS:

use double quotes for a phrase
you may need to narrow your search by Format: Journal.

Try searching a news media database listed below that indexes Australian content

Key Australian databases

Search these databases to find full text, Australian content:

TVNews
Use this database to access streaming video for news stories, current affairs programs and documentaries broadcast by Australia's free-to-air networks ABC, ABC2, SBS, 7, 9 and 10. The service is updated daily and contains over 200,000 programs dating from September 2007 to present. Searchable information includes a detailed synopsis for each story.
more...less...
Examples of programs covered include:
•ABC News National
•Compass
•Foreign Correspondent
•Four Corners
•Inside Business
•Insight
•Living Black (to 2011)
•Media Watch
•Message Stick
•Q and A
•World News Australia
Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre Access via SJRC Moodle - Library Intranet

Indigenous media

Try these sites for current and past media stories on Indigenous issues.

(Note: Please be aware that content may include images of people who have died.)

ABC Indigenous 'The portal is designed to reflect current issues in the Indigenous community...developed in consultation with the ABC Indigenous Programs Unit and with members of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community from around Australia.' -- 'About this website'
National Indigenous Television
Koori Mail collection online AIATSIS and the Koori Mail proudly present the Digital collection of 20 years of the Koori Mail – Australia’s fortnightly national Indigenous newspaper.

Historical newspaper articles

Trove: newspapers
An discovery search engine through the National Library of Australia. Search for digitised newspaper and magazine articles from as early as 1803 and up until the mid 1950s.
State Library of South Australia - Newspapers
Find SA historical newspapers through the State Library of South Australia. Search help is available through their pages.

Preliminary English - Contemporary Possibilities: Australian